Week IX – X

April 1, 2009 at 7:00 am Leave a comment

New Zealand – through the middle of the South Island

It seems like I’m always a bit behind with blogging. On the other hand, you probably wouldn’t believe me, if I’d start to write about future events. Or would you? If you’re good at- or open to other perspectives you may find out which book I’m reading in the current album new zealand V.
Anyway, first after relaxing a few days in the small town Picton, I went to do the Queen Charlotte track. 71 km of best weather and awesome views, but also walking again with a heavy backpack. Afterwards I went to Nelson and further to Greymouth where I took the Transalp train via Arthurs Pass to Christchurch. The train ride was quit nice but a bit overrated and hyped. In Christchurch I decided to rent a car for just a day to head back to Castle Hill, an area with a lot of rocks – boulders famous within the rock climbing community. After a great climbing day and night stay at a campsite nearby, I drove back, returned the car and was off north, to Kaikoura. If I ever got more time I have to go there again – nice people, awesome climbing – sweet as!
In Kaikoura I saw, again, no whales, so I just had a relaxing day reading and basically doing nothing. The next morning brought another bus ride and the ferry from Picton back to the North Island. In Wellington I took part at the Earth hour what everybody should have done.

queen charlotte track castle hill
Pictures: Queen Charlotte Track and Castle Hill.
That’s about all that happened. Shockingly, on the 29th of March, April seemed just a glimpse ahead..

..and I thought about writing of coming back to Europe at the end of this month – but come on, nobody would have believed this April fool hoax anyway.

Entry filed under: english, experience, sport, travel. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Week VII – VIII Week XI – XII

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Quotes

~ Qui Tacet Consentit

_______

Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Add to Technorati Favorites
blog rating and reviews
Bloggeries Blog Directory


