Week XVI – XVIII

May 20, 2009 at 3:53 pm Leave a comment

Australia – Sydney to Byron Bay

It took some time, but I finally managed to get out of Sydney. I met quite a lot of interesting people there, which makes it always a bit harder to leave. I started travelling up the east coast with stops in Newcastle, Port Macquarie, Coffs Harbour and Byron Bay. The weather stayed really good until I reached Byron Bay, which sucks because I wanted to try surfing here. Still, I went on a wine tasting tour around Hunter Valley, on a kayaking trip trough mangroves and a sunset boat tour (without dolphins) among other things. So I guess I shouldn’t complain about the weather at the moment. Although, I’m camping here at the Arts Factory and it seems like there is some water leaking through the outer layer of my tent. You can imagine that I’m not really happy with that. I’ll have to think about something more effective than the the muesli bar wrapping I’m currently using to keep my inner tent dry. Also I keep myself successful from doing my laundry since it started raining. It’s good that the showers started working again!

Another thing I’m not very happy about is that I got a flight from Brisbane to Fiji on the 31st. So I probably won’t make it to the Great Barrier Reef – where I would have loved to go diving. Also I would miss out on the whole outback, the west coast and the north of Australia. In the south I’m not really interested now anyway. Well, I’ll figure something out.

Sydney at night, Newcastle, vineyard in hunter valley, flying fox in Port Macquarie, kayaks, beach climbing, a kitschy sunset and at Byron Bay at last..

around kings cross at night newcastle harbour
vineyard in hunter valley flying fox in port macquarie
kayaks beach climbing at port macquarie
sunset byron bay

Entry filed under: english, experience, travel. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Week XIV – XV Update (Week XVIII)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Quotes

~ Qui Tacet Consentit

_______

Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Add to Technorati Favorites
blog rating and reviews
Bloggeries Blog Directory


