Week XXVI – XXVII

July 26, 2009 at 10:17 pm 4 comments

Canada – Vancouver

Before I hit the road – or better the canadian mountains – I want to give you a small summary of the last six months of travelling:
– half a year, 26 weeks (from 2009-01-16 to 2009-07-17 – 183 days)
– Japan, New Zealand, Australia, Fiji, USA (Hawaii, Washington), Canada
– diving, snorkeling, kayaking, swimming, surfing, hiking, running, climbing
– by plane, bus, car, boat, hitchhiking, train, walking
– best breakfast: Seattle (fruits), Fiji (just everything on Beachcomber island)
– best shower: New Zealand (after days in the wild), Vancouver (just good)
– best sleep: New Zealand (in my tent in the bush and at the French Ridge Hut)
– best rocks: New Zealand (at Castle Hill), Australian blue mountains
– best food: sushi in Tokyo, fish and chips on Steward Island
I haven’t been stolen anything and lost only one t-shirt and that to the sharks while on a diving trip in Fiji. Unfortunately it was my Come-To-Pay shirt (sorry, Arvid) – you might know it from a lot of famous jump pictures.

About Canada.. I wasn’t fully healthy when I crossed over to Vancouver. Still, after a few questions at the Canadian border, everything was done. The green US passport paper (everybody makes such a big fuzz about it, cause it makes it hard to enter the States when you forget to return it after leaving) the bus driver just ripped out, after I asked about it. She told me she’ll throw it in the box at the US border on her way back – she does that all the time – aaalright.
I came across a lot of homeless people and street dealers when I walked from the bus to the hostel in Vancouver. Then on one corner an older woman in a car stopped and offered me a chicken dinner, because she bought two for one. Oh, strange Vancouver. Due to feeling not a hundred percent fit, I didn’t do much the first few days. I explored the city and went on a day tour but that’s basically all. (I saw fish again – yes, I like stating and keywording ‘fish’)

Around Capilano park, Burrard and Lions Gate bridge and Granville island..

capilano lake burrard street bridge

granville island lions gate bridge

Today, I made my way over to Calgary. I learned about distances in Canada. It was a 15-hour bus drive through awesome Canadian landscapes. I lost an hour by crossing a time zone. Tomorrow, I’ll start a 20-day camping trip through the Rockies, Banff, Lake Luise and back to the West over Vancouver Island.

Uh, before I forget.. I did an update on my domain and account. Take a look at almost.plain.at. There you’ll find a selection of my best photos in various categories (you’ll need to click them, to get to the actual gallery). Thanks a lot for keeping my plain.at account Viktor!

Entry filed under: city, english, travel. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Week XXV Week XXVIII – XXX

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rsp  |  July 30, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Wow, good to read you’re okay. Me too. Miss you a lot this time. I’m feelin’ good but had hoped you’d be tomorrow at our yearly barbecue. Last year was great …

    hughs and kisses rsp

    Reply
  • 2. rsp  |  August 19, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Waiting for new fotos and blog entries of you … I wanna see some bears!!! So where are they? I really really wanna watch them ;-)

    Reply
    • 3. Ray  |  August 21, 2009 at 8:48 pm

      There you go, there’s a bear for you in the actual update. Also, some other animals to cuddle with. Sorry, that there are so many pictures (in ‘canada II’ on Picasa) this time. But, like I said, it’s just a small selection of all of them.

      All the best!

      Reply
      • 4. rsp  |  August 23, 2009 at 7:35 pm

        Thanks a lot little one :-)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Quotes

~ Qui Tacet Consentit

_______

Writing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
Add to Technorati Favorites
blog rating and reviews
Bloggeries Blog Directory


